The Phidippides Awards

In honor of the very first marathon runner in history, USATF Masters Long Distance Running has established the "Phidippides Award." The awards are predicated upon participants accumulating a number of points over a given calendar year for participating in long distance running events in the United States.

The award itself is free, and will be bestowed to the runner upon receipt of his/her application (see below) and verification of the event information. Each runner will be eligible for only one award per year.

Points will be accumulated pursuant to the following chart:
Races less than 5km (3.1 miles) are not eligible.
1 point5km to 5miles
2 points10km to 15km
3 points10 miles to half marathon
4 points25km to marathon or longer distances.

The rules are simple and straightforward.

  1. All applicants must submit a completed Awards Application form.
  2. Since this is a USATF Award, applicants must be current USATF members. (If you are not sure if you are a member or to become a member, see the website, usatf.org)
  3. Only one award is allowed per member per year.
  4. Awards are based on accumulated points during a given calendar year (2014 = January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2014.
  5. There must be a finish time recorded for the runner. Finishing times and distance run must be verifiable by a results posting on an event website, or if none is available, a newspaper listing submitted by the runner will suffice.

The following point totals will determine the level of award the runner is eligible to receive.
40-59 years60-79 years80+ years
Gold Award20 points16 points8 points
Silver Award16 points12 points4 points
Bronze Award12 points8 points2 points

Click here to download the 2014 Phidippides Award Application, printable order form.